Home > Rant, Uncategorized > Blech. Ugh. Sigh.

Blech. Ugh. Sigh.

Delabeling BelgiansNothing inspires me to new heights of profanity and violence like the task of delabeling bottles. I loathe it – and were it not a necessary (albiet evil) part of the homebrewing process… *sigh*. So that was today – I cleaned and delabeled 6+ cases of bottles, primarily belgian-style 750mL ones. Most of them came courtesy of my friend Brian and his buddy Robert, and I will certainly not complain about the state they were received in – they had all been washed and were free!!! So no scrubbing out with the bottle brush, just a soaking in hot PBW and a minor amount of scraping for a few of them. All in all, they saved me about $80 in belgian bottles (had I bought them new). I also got 2 cases of 22oz bombers, which I will put something dark, oakey and strong in to age for a while.

Amarillo PaleMy amarillo pale ale brewed a while back is ready for kegging, which I will most likely do tomorrow. The hot PBW wash I used to clean the kegs is most of what went towards cleaning the bottles… with a little extra PBW for good measure. The American brown in the demijohn next to it will be racked to secondaries soon as well (5 gallons I plan on oaking in the keg… Yum).

Next up I have a Maibock and an Abbey “Singel”. the singel I am somewhat excited about – I want it to be relatively low octane (like 1.042) but with your typical full-flavor belgian yumminess. The thought of sitting and drinking a session belgian all night and not landing on my face is very appealing. The Maibock will be my 3rd lager ever, and I am somewhat dreading it – Lagers are just such a pain, and I am finding I really don’t care for them that much… at least not the ones I have tried recently. But hey – One of my resolutions was to brew more lagers, so there you go.

Categories: Rant, Uncategorized
  1. February 9, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    I’ve heard if you put your bottles in the dishwasher and let it run it will remove the labels nicely. I just remember having to clean out the gunky, soggy labels from the bottom of the dishwasher.

  2. APaw
    February 24, 2008 at 9:16 am

    I’ve really started to love Chlorox’s Oxyclean for labels. It’s not a bleach. Soak bottles for an hour and the labels generally fall off. Some wiping with a copper scouring pad to get some of the glue off.

    And my real reason for posting, I believe you mentioned having a good clone recipe for Iron Hill’s Pig Iron Porter. Any chance of sharing that with us?

  3. March 1, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Oxyclean and PBW are essentially the same, from what I understand. I go with the PBW because it definitely doesn’t have any perfumes & other non-essentials in it, where as I’m not convinced on the Oxyclean.

    As for the Pig Iron Porter – Shoot me an e-mail. I’ll forward it on.

  1. April 26, 2008 at 3:46 pm

Leave a Reply

