Home > Hop growing > Hop God

Hop God

Zeus - god of hops!My rhizomes from Freshops came in today – 3 fatties of Zeus. It is supposed to have a character very similar to Columbus / Tomahawk, and considering the scarcity and outrageous prices of that variety this year – yay me. I am slightly worried because the variety book indicates they are succeptible to mildew, but we’ll have to do what we can to prevent that.

I also have the problem of having no clue where to put them. All of the really good locations in terms of sun exposure are taken in my yard… so without ripping something up I don’t really have a good place. I will definitely have to come up with something, though…

Categories: Hop growing
  1. foolcircle
    March 18, 2008 at 3:16 am

    Those things look gnarly. Is the side of your house all “used up” with hops you moved over there?

  2. brewznet
    March 18, 2008 at 11:52 am

    Yeah, pretty gnarly. A couple have some good sized shoots on them, which is great. As for the side of my yard… There is a huge butterfly bush that shades most of that side of the house, and the wife isn’t about to let me hack it down. I have considered ripping the Liberty out of there since they’ve done so horribly the past few years, however Donna wants me to leave them in there for now.

    I’ll figure out where to put them. I definitely want these things to take off and do well…

  3. billvelek
    March 28, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    Is that a picture of the package with all three rhizomes, or is that just one ‘jumbo’ rhizome? I’ve been wondering what a ‘jumbo’ from Freshops looks like. By the way, I just posted a different message under the ‘other’ hop growing thread that anyone who grows hops should be interested in.

    Cheers.

    Bill Velek

  4. brewznet
    March 28, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    That would be 3 individual rhizomes all together in one package. Even though I didn’t order “jumbo”, these things came in pretty big and gnarley – about 1 1/2″ thick each. I waited about a week before I put them in the ground, so I am really hoping they didn’t dry out too much. I guess I’ll know in a month or so…

    As another note – I’ve had very good results just using the regular rhizomes from Freshops… in fact, the only one I ever had a problem with was a jumbo Liberty! They are a fantastic vendor for good rhizomes, IMO.

  1. September 2, 2008 at 11:13 pm

Leave a Reply

