Home > Tech geeks > Senseless Fun

Senseless Fun

SketchUp rendering of 26 gallon kettleI’m not sure I want to admit to how many hours I played around with Google’s 3D rendering package, SketchUp, this evening. I’ve been eyeing it as a way to render and visualize what I want my brewing rig to look like ever since it was first mentioned by Arnie Wierenga several months back, but after some significant energy and hype from the folks that I attended the Houston meeting with, I figured I’d check it out.

Sure enough, this is one bad@$$ piece of software… and it’s TOTALLY FREE. I was nearly floored at the power and speed its engine renders 3D models with. Anyone can whip up a model REALLY fast once they learn the tools… even someone that is artistically challenged, as I am.

Much playing remains before I feel I’ve gotten adept, but as you can see… I am well on my way. Once I get some half decent models built, I’ll post the files up here.

Categories: Tech geeks
  1. April 8, 2008 at 2:46 am

    Wow, if you just threw that kettle together than you’re gonna rock those models.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

