Home > Miscellaneous > Rackin’ and Rollin’…

Rackin’ and Rollin’…

Today I racked the Oktoberfest and the California Commonfest over to secondaries. They’ve been on the yeast for about 2 1/2 weeks, have fallen crystal clear, and had very little yeast activity, so I figured it was time. The process was very uneventful, and I didn’t get any yeast in the secondaries at all. I did manage to capture a huge, clean slurry of WLP833 if anyone out there is interested in brewing a bock, doppelbock, octoberfest, or german lager… Since I don’t have a lagering fridge, I’m already trying to figure out what to do with the Oktoberfest – it will most likely spend the summer down in Dover in my friend’s garage fridge.

New outlets in garageI also stopped by Home Depot and tore into getting the wire run for Donna’s TIG welder this evening. The circuits are run down to the box, I have them terminated in the outlet plugs, and all that remains is tying them into the breaker panel in the basement. I may do a trial run with the new 20A circuit, and if it works and I don’t electricute myself, I might try the 50A circuit. That one scares the crap out of me, if you want to know the truth…. I may also just wait until my friend from work can come over and help me tie them in. Educated as a ChemE, electricity falls just short of “black magic” in my book.

Once the wiring is proven “good” and functional, I’ll go and pick up the sheetrock, mud, tape, and other stuff to protect that back wall from donna’s occasional sparks. I also need to pick up a 10 lb fire extinguisher – a 5 lb cylinder might not be big enough for a welder the size of Donna’s.

I can’t wait for her to get to take her new toy out for a test drive.

Categories: Miscellaneous
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

