Home > Rant, Tech geeks > DS1307 Woes

DS1307 Woes

I am so friggin frustrated. I spent the entire evening trying to get my 28X PICAXE chip to talk to a DS1307 real time clock chip using the I2C protocol. It has been over 3 hours, and I am no closer to getting this thing to work. I have ripped everything out except the pieces I need to download a program and read from the I2C network.

The PICAXE programming manual says the following about the readi2c command: “If the i2c hardware is incorrectly configured, or the wrong i2cslave data has been
used, the value 255 ($FF) will be loaded into each variable.”… well guess what I get when I fire up my board and see the feedback from my PICAXE chip:

Hey look! All 255s! Something isn’t working right! FANTASTIC. The code came right out of the PICAXE manual, so I know that’s not the problem.

I have looked at this stupid circuit for way too long tonight, and I am beyond pissed off at this point. I have assembled much more complicated circuits than this one, and for whatever reason this DS1307 chip is defeating me. I need to figure it out to measure the elapsed time between my grant high and low float switch triggers, and then back-calculate the sparge flowrate. Part of my problem might be the “crystal” I am using, which came from P H Anderson along with the DS1307, but he knows what he’s doing and I can’t believe he’d sell me two bum crystals or two bum DS1307s – Yeah, I’ve swapped both out numerous times and have not found any difference. This has got to be user error, my fault, its right under my nose and I can’t see it.

Tomorrow is another day… and perhaps I’ll figure it out then, if I don’t just beat this stupid IC into oblivian with a hammer first. If my new 28X1 chips come in tomorrow, I might try swapping the PICAXE out too… but the 28X should work just fine.

ARGH!!!

At least I got 10 gallons of porter racked into secondaries and a keg preped for my Octoberfest… So while I killed my night on electronics, I did get something meaningful done in the beer department. I also managed to climb on the treadmill for 40 minutes… so yay me.

Categories: Rant, Tech geeks
  1. brewznet
    June 4, 2008 at 11:16 am

    Well, thanks to the good folks over at the PICAXE forum, my problems have been identified – I needed to ground pin 3 of the DS1307 IC, and I had the B2 variable repeated twice in my code (stupid stupid stupid!!!) so it was spitting out H:M:H instead of H:M:S.

    That’s what happens when you get frustrated – you can’t see what’s right in front of you.

  2. June 4, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    I say use the hammer 🙂

    Oblivian’s Hammer (or something like that) would be a great beer name.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

