Home > Tech geeks > Pump Skid PCB Design

Pump Skid PCB Design

So tonight I spent some time playing around with Diptrace and I think I’ve arrived at a relatively clean PCB design for the main pump skid board. As I’ve stated in previous posts, I intend on splitting the sensor and control panel boads from this main board and using 10-pin headers to connect them together. This is my first attempt at a PCB design – hopefully it looks like a workable one. I guess we’ll find out when I get the stuff to etch one… It’ll either work or need to be reworked.

At some point I’ll have to upload my PICAXE VSM schematic and PCB design files up to the SkyDrive, although I seriously doubt anyone out there is gonna download them to mess around. I suppose at the very least it might be a good backup if a tornado ever hits my house or something.

I also swung by Home Depot on my way home and picked up some 1/2″ 8-32 machine screws so I could mount the SSRs to their respective heat sinks. I got both mounted, although I ended up hosing two of the Crydom heat transfer pads in the process. I got a couple extra expecting my first try would not be pretty – good thing too. By the third attempt I had learn all the important aspects (read “what-not-to-do”), and I nailed both mountings without issue. I also put the little acrylic covers over the SSRs… I’ve managed to carelessly brush my finger across the two 120V terminals a few times when the circuit was energized and zapped myself good… So enough of that.

I am still struggling with the enclosure for all this. An obvious solution is for me to ask Donna to weld up a 10″ x 7″ x 5″ box out of 1/32″ sheet metal or something. We don’t exactly have the tools required to cut the pieces to size or make the necessary holes for switches, LEDs, etc just sitting around the house (we’re not a metalworking shop, despite the TIG welder)… And I’m having second thoughts about making an enclosure of plastic because I’d hate for the heat to warp the enclosure or worse – melt it or set it on fire. I also am not sure where to get the plastic I want / need – I looked at some Lexan at HD today and it is just to flimsy. I could buy a ready-made enclosure from Allied Electronics, but they are REALLY costly (like $50 minimum)… So what to do? Maybe I’ll just get a heavy-duty plastic toolbox… But man, that would look ugly. Like I said… I don’t know what I want to do.

Categories: Tech geeks
  1. davemccomsey
    June 6, 2008 at 10:00 am

    if a 12x12x4deep metal enclosure will work let me know and i can get you one for free 🙂

    dave

  2. brewznet
    June 6, 2008 at 10:32 am

    I am certainly willing to give a 12 x 12 x 4 metal enclosure a try – particularly if it is for free! Wow. Thanks a ton….

  3. davemccomsey
    June 6, 2008 at 11:02 am

    no problem, shoot me a email at dmccomsey at mac dot com and i’ll get it too you. i’m actually looking at making my first beer this weekend.

  4. June 7, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    We have a couple different kinds and thicknesses (.125, .25, .5) of plexi-glass at my work and there are always scraps, if you are interested and you give me all the dimensions you need I’m sure I could get it all cut to size for you. We typically have clear, frosted, white, and tons of various scraps in all sorts of colors. Let me know.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

