Home > Uncategorized > Highs and Lows

Highs and Lows

Crazy weekend. We went down to my parents’ retirement home on Lake Gaston in NC this past weekend. I brought down my 2-tap draft box along with a keg of brown porter and a keg of american wheat – both were nearly gone after 3 days. My entire family was there – all 3 sisters and their significant others, and they were thirsty. The draft box worked awesome from the very first pour – I was ecstatic and can’t wait for another opportunity to use it. The beer definitely helped the multitude of projects go by faster – Installing laminate flooring, assembling furniture and bookshelves, disassembling a beaver domicile (!!!), and several other odd jobs.

We returned on Monday evening to find that the heavy storms we had driven through going down to NC on Friday had obviously found there way to Delaware as well – My Magnum and Zeus hop trellises had both collapsed from the high winds. The Magnum trellis was easily fixed, however the Zeus required much more extensive reinforcement and repair – That sucker definitely ain’t coming down again after the work we put into it tonight. Fortunately none of the vines seemed worse for the wear, so I am optimistic that they will recover just fine. I also came home to find that the Japanese Beetles are coming out… SUCK! They are really digging into my Liberty again, and I can’t say I am looking forward to another season of fending them off. I hate beetles.

Haven’t done any significant work on my pump skid control box since a week ago, although I did find some time to do a test etching of a printed circuit board. It turned out decent for a first time – I found a few things in my technique that need tweaking (and lead to thin traces), however I feel pretty confident my next attempt will be excellent.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 2, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    Suckage on the trellis action. That had to have felt like a kick in the balls when you first saw them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

