Home > Uncategorized > Regaining the brew bug

Regaining the brew bug

Well, I’ve got a few weeks where I know I can’t focus on the electronics portion of my pump skid develoment… The drill press holder for my Dremel is backordererd until sometime in late July, and I just ordered 4 6″x9″ pre-sensitized single-sided PCBs from Allied Electronics that should be arriving on Monday… while I could use the double-sided ones that were sent to me in error, I’d rather save them until later when I am more proficient and ready to tackle 2-sided boards. I have made some inroads on PicaxeVSM to DipTrace inroads thanks to some guidance from Arnie Wierenga, and now can take my simulated circuits and move the net list / air wires into the PCB program with greatly minimized error potential. I have also learned to take the “autorouter” feature of DipTrace with a grain of salt, because the truth is that often times a human eye can do things much better than the PC, despite its computing power. Small shifts in component locations can greatly simplify the traces, particularly by runnings them >>under<< resistor artwork (between the two end pads) instead of a sea of jumper wires… but I digress into geekdom. Sorry about that.

At any rate, since I am gonna hang up pimpin’ my electronic brew gear for a few weeks, I am really getting an itch to brew some more… my empty kegs continue to multiply, and are begging to be full. I’m planning 10 gallons of American Brown this coming weekend, and will hopefully get in a good batch or two of belgians before our August 10th vacation to Disneyworld. I don’t really want to leave the belgians during primary fermentation while we’re away… but want to have plenty of beer in secondaries and maybe a primary fermentation winding down when we walk out the door.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 11, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Cool, are you making the same ABA recipe you’ve made in the past or is this something different?

  2. brewznet
    July 11, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    I was threatened with harm if I changed it. I’m short 2oz of Chocolate malt, so I may substitute or I may say screw it – haven’t decieded. Rest will remain the same. The Belgian style batches will be my next “experiement” beers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

