Home > Miscellaneous, Rant > Doing Dishes

Doing Dishes

Anyone who reads this blog with some frequency has probably come across one or more of my rants on delabeling and cleaning bottles. If you haven’t, I’ll summarize now: I despise it. Yesterday I couldn’t take the leaning towers of glass and cardboard in the garage anymore, so I endeavored to rid myself of them by doing what was needful, despite my abhorance of the task.

I got started around 1 or 1:30PM, and decided to give my 25 gallon kettle a try instead of the normal 14 gallon kettle. Good move #1 – It fits over 2 cases (52 bottles)!!! Talk about awesome. It doesn’t cut the day in half, but it did save some time… there is only so fast you can scrape labels, scrub glue, and rinse & bottle brush, regardless of how many you soak at once.

It was a very long, wet day and I managed to get things wrapped up around 8:30 or so. I haven’t cleaned the label carnage off the garage floor, but the kettle and other brewing equipment is all cleaned and put away. The end result was 9+ cases of 12oz bottles and 1 case of 750mL Belgian style bottles, so I should be set for another six months to a year. Between the empty kegs and now all my empty bottles, I’ve got a whole lot of brewing to do!

My fingers hurt, my body aches, and I feel like I’ve got a PBW film all over me, but now that it is over I feel relatively content. Until next time, I suppose…

Categories: Miscellaneous, Rant
  1. October 27, 2008 at 1:02 am

    Better you than me!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

