Home > Brew gear, Tech geeks > Netduino Development

Netduino Development

The past month and a half have been a bit of a break on the brewing front – With all the beer I had on hand, I decided to take some time and familiarize myself with my latest electronics gadget, the Netduino. The best way I’ve found to learn a technology is to figure out how to do stuff you already know how to do on your current platform, and re-implement it using the newer one. This time has been no exception.

I ordered a new 3280 point breadboard, a couple of SparkFun protoshields, and broke open my stash of integrated circuits to have a little fun over Thanksgiving. I’ve slowly been building my C# skills and device libraries ever since. I am 100% confident that I’ll be able to make my wireless grant a reality in the next couple of months, once I get done tinkering. So here are the classes I’ve developed so far:

The MCP230XX and 24LCXXX chips are both contained in the same project file (I2CTests.zip), and the LCD117 class is really just a wrapper for the (already pretty simple) serial commands for configuring and displaying information on the LCD screen. All the classes have been extensively tested and proven to work (as long as things are wired up properly).

It may not seem like a lot, and I suppose it really isn’t, but we haven’t been home much over the past month or so and when we’ve been home the weekends have been totally crazy – I suspect I will not be brewing any new beers until early 2011, although I suspect I’ll come out of the gate with lots of brewing activity.

Categories: Brew gear, Tech geeks
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

